This week Leann Harris and Maggie Brendan

» Posted on Oct 26, 2009 in Blog | 12 comments


Congratulations to April for winning Susan Page Davis’s Hearts in the Crosshairs and Cherie for winning Michelle Sutton’s Danger at the Door.

This week I’m hosting Leann Harris Guarded Secrets with and Maggie Brendan with The Jewel of His Heart. If you want to enter the drawing for the book, please leave a comment on one of the post during the week with your email address. I will not enter you without an email address (my way to contact you if you win). If you don’t want to leave an email address, another way you can enter is to email me at margaretdaley@gmail.com. The drawings end Sunday (Nov. 1st) evening.

Bio for Leann Harris:

When Leann was first introduced to her husband in college she knew she would never date the man. He was a graduate student getting a PhD in physics, and Leann had purposely taken a second year of biology in high school to avoid taking physics. So much for first impressions. They have been married thirty-eight years and still approach life from very different angles.

After graduating from the University of Texas at Austin, Leann taught math and science to deaf high school students for a couple of years until the birth of her first child. When her youngest child started school, Leann decided to fulfill a life-long dream and began writing.

She is a former president of the Dallas Area Romance Writers and founding member and an active member of her local ACFW chapter, Ready Writers.. Barbara presently lives in Plano, Texas with her husband. Her 12th novel Guarded Secrets is an Oct 2009 LIS release.

Visit her at her webpage www.leannharris.com

Blurb for Guarded Secrets:

“If I die, it won’t be an accident.”

At the time, Lilly Burkstrom brushed aside her ex-husband’s words. Then he dies—”accidentally”—in a convenience store robbery, and she starts to wonder. Turning to the police doesn’t help. They don’t see the danger closing in on her, not even when someone breaks into her house and her ex-husband’s apartment. Only Detective Jonathan Littledeer understands her fears, having lost his own family. He’s determined to keep the single mom safe. He’s not going to let another “accident” claim Lilly or her daughter before he can bring the killer’s guarded secrets to light.


Bio for Maggie Brendan:

Maggie Brendan is a member of the American Christian Writers (ACW) and the American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW). She was a recipient of the 2004 ACW Persistence Award.

Maggie can be found on her blog, www.http://southernbellewriter.blogspot.com and is a resident blogger on http://bustlesAndspurs.com. Her first book, No Place For a Lady, the first book in the Heart of the West series, was released in January 2009 and received a 4.5 star review from Romantic Times. The Jewel of His Heart, book 2, will be released October of 2009, and received a 4 star review from Romantic Times. A Love of Her Own is scheduled for release in June 2010. She has begun writing another historical series called The Blue Willow Brides. Maggie is also quoted in, Word Weavers, The Successful Writer’s Critique Groups, that was released in June 2008. She has led a writer’s critique group for the last six years. A TV film version of No Place for a Lady is currently in development for possible movie production. She recently spoke at a Regional Church Bookstores and Libraries conference in Marietta about The Value of Christian Fiction. She has participated in two of LifeWay Christian Store’s Annual Fiction Event Day. Maggie is married with two grown children and four grandchildren. When she is not writing, she enjoys reading, singing, painting, scrapbooking and being with her family. She lives in Marietta, GA.

Blurb for The Jewel of His Heart:

Breakthrough Author Captures Romance and Rugged Adventure:

Big Sky Country holds two treasures: rare jewels and Juliana’s love.
Which will he choose?

Romance readers have taken to the soft, romantic style of Maggie Brendan in her runaway-hit debut novel No Place for a Lady. Now, the second book in the series releases with great anticipation, taking readers back to the Big Sky Country of the American frontier—and the life and love that awaits.

The second book in the Heart of the West series, The Jewel of His Heart is set in 1890s Montana. It is here that Juliana calls home when she meets Josh McBride, a handsome, gentle sheepherder. When he discovers a rare kind of sapphire on his property and considers striking out on his own path in the world, he is forced to decide what’s most important to him: the world’s riches or the eternal value of love in a woman whose eyes rival the rarest of gems.

For fans of Lori Wick and Kim Vogel Sawyer, Maggie Brendan’s beautifully woven story captures the rugged, adventurous life on the American frontier—and the quest for love by the pioneers who live there.

12 Comments

  1. Great post. I have read Maggie Brendan books and they are great. Just finished Jewel of His Heart.
    tarenn98[at]yahoo[dot]com

  2. I enjoyed the interview and am interested in this fascinating novel. Jewel of His heart looks captivating. saubleb(at)gmail(dot)com

  3. Please enter me in the drawing for Jewel of His Heart. The story sounds great and the cover is lovely.

    Thanks,
    Sherry K
    love2stitch(at)hotmail(dot)com

  4. Both of these books sound very good. Thanks for the post, Margaret. Enter me in the drawing. nancyjfarrier[at]gmail[dot]com

  5. Well, I love all suspense stories and Leanne would be a new author to me. Also, I see that Maggie lives in Marietta which is not far from where I live. Please enter me in the drawing for these two wonderful books.
    Deborah M.
    debbiejeanm[at]gmail[dot]com

  6. Great post I have read The Jewel of the heart and it is a great book, but I would love to win the book by Leann Harris.

    May God bless

    mamat2730(at)charter(dot)net

  7. Oh, Margaret, both of these books sound good this week. Please include me in both drawings. thanks.

    ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

  8. I enjoyed the first book in Maggie's series and would love to win a copy of "The Jewel of His Heart." Thank you so much for the giveaway, Margaret.

    cjarvis [at] bellsouth [dot] net

  9. VAL says: I would enjoy either book as I have not read books by these authors but I love to try new authors so please enter me in the contest! westernaz@msn.com

  10. I appreciate everyone's interest about my book and many thanks go to those who've read it. I'm so glad that you enjoyed it. Good luck everyone trying to win a copy.

  11. Please enter me, these books both look so good!
    carolynnwald[at]hotmail[dot]com

  12. Both of them look good! I read the first book in Maggie's series and would love to win that one! martha(at)lclink(dot)com

Leave a Reply to brendalottakamaggiebrendan Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.