This week Brandt Dodson and Merrillee Whren

» Posted on Dec 29, 2008 in Blog | 8 comments

Daniel's Den cover photo
Congratulations to Carole. You are the winner of Cynthia Hickey’s Fudge-Laced Felonies.

This week I am hosting Brandt Dodson with his new book coming out at the first of February called Daniel’s Den, a Colton Parker Mystery. Also this week Merrillee Whren will be here with a new Love Inspired called Mommy’s Hometown Hero (beautiful cover). If you want to be entered in the drawings for either book, please leave a comment with your email address so I can contact you if you are the winner, or you can email me at margaretdaley@gmail.com and let me know if you want to be in both or one of the drawings.

Brandt Dodson’s bio:

Brandt Dodson is the author of the Colton Parker Mystery series, the novel
White Soul, and Daniel’s Den which will be released on February 1st.
Brandt resides in southern Indiana with his wife and their two sons and is
at work on his next novel.

Daniel’s Den (from Amazon):

In this fast–paced thriller by popular author Brandt Dodson, a young government accountant learns to trust God when his life begins to fall apart and unseen enemies pursue him with relentless zeal.

Daniel Borden is a thirty–year–old government accountant who lives a quiet life and plays by the rules. But when events transpire that shatter his orderly world and a team of assassins mark him for death, Daniel must flee for his life.

While on the run, Daniel encounters Laura Sky. Carefree and easygoing, Laura is everything that Daniel isn’t. But when the killers assigned to eliminate Daniel find him at Laura’s bed–and–breakfast, gunfire erupts and the two set out on the run once again.

As they try to unravel the mystery that confronts them, they discover how tenuous life can be and how their very existence depends on the God who will never abandon them.

A perfect suspense tale for readers who love Dee Henderson, James Scott Bell, Brandilyn Collins, and James Patterson.

Merrillee Whren’s bio:

I was born on my mother’s birthday, July 3rd. Of course, I’m sure you’re thinking I was the best birthday present she ever had. Sharing birthdays seems to run in my family. My two daughters were born a year apart on June 18th, the birthday of a great-great grandfather. The girls are now grown. The older one lives in Baltimore and the younger one in Pittsburgh.

I arrived while my parents lived in Rapid City, South Dakota, but they soon moved to Helena, Montana. This would be the first of many moves in my life. I graduated from high school while we lived in Spokane, Washington. I went back to Huron, South Dakota, to attend Dakota Bible College. Then I went on for more schooling at Milligan College in Tennessee. After graduating, I got a teaching job near Cincinnati, Ohio, where I met my husband two years later. We were married on Valentine’s Day and had our wedding reception in Loveland, Ohio. No wonder I became a romance writer.

The moving I did as a child prepared me well for life with my husband. We started our married life in Greenfield, Ohio. I taught elementary school and my husband was a pharmacist at the local pharmacy. However, his work would eventually take us on a journey from small town Ohio where our girls were born to the cities of Atlanta, Boston, Dallas and Chicago. When my husband decided to start his own company, we could live any place we wanted. So we picked one of the best places in the world, in my opinion, an island off the northeastern coast of Florida. We live in a vacation paradise with the beach, tennis and golf right out our back door or just down the street. When I’m not writing, I enjoy walking on the beach, playing tennis and bridge or doing a little yard work.

Living in so many different places gave me the opportunity to visit all fifty states. I traveled to my last state several years ago when my husband and I celebrated our twenty-fifth wedding anniversary with an Alaskan cruise. My many moves have given me a lot of settings for my stories and the chance to meet many other writers through the chapters of Romance Writers of American located in each place we lived.

I wrote my first novel and shared it with my friends when I was in high school, but many years passed before I thought about writing anything with publication in mind. In 1984, after reading dozens of romances, I decided to write one of my own. How hard could that be? Twenty years worth of writing taught me how hard the publishing business can be. During those years of writing, rewriting, lots of rejections and unkind critiques, there were numerous times when I was ready to quit, but I didn’t. Through that time, I believe God was teaching me a lesson in perseverance. He was also teaching me to give my writing over to His will. Because I kept writing even when the hope of selling seemed far away, in July of 2003, I won the Golden Heart Award presented by Romance Writers of America for my inspirational romance manuscript, A Place To Call Home. I didn’t sell that Golden Heart winner, but on February 20, 2004, I got “THE CALL” and sold a different manuscript. The Heart’s Homecoming was published by Steeple Hill for their Love Inspired line in August 2005.


Mommy’s Hometown Hero’s back blurb:

His objective: marriage. His opponent: a stubborn single mom. After ten years, Rachel Charbonneau is finally back in South Dakota. But she intends to sell her family’s farm and rush “home” to the city. Ex-solidier Matt Dalton won’t let her go without a fight. Well, a secret fight. He can’t let her know he’s loved her since they were kids. Or that thoughts of her saved him through the worst of times. And Rachel seems scared to tell him the real reason she wants to leave. So, his strategy: arm himself with all the faith and love necessary to be her hometown hero.

8 Comments

  1. Hi, I would really like to be entered in your drawing for Brandt
    Dodson’s mystery! Many thanks,
    Cindi
    jchoppes[at]hotmail[dot]com

  2. I’d love to be in the drawing for Mommy’s Hometown Hero by Merrilee Whren.

    Cheryl S.
    cas2ajs@suite224.net

  3. Both books sound great. Please enter me in the drawing for Mommy’s Hometown Hero. Thanks, and Happy New Year!

    Cheryl C. (aka Cheri)

    castings[at]mindspring[dot]com

  4. I would love a chance to win Mommy’s Hometown Hero. I won Daniel’s Den a few weeks ago. Thanks!

    worthy2bpraised{at}gmail{dot}com

  5. Count me in for both, Happy New Years!

  6. I would like to be entered in the drawing for the Dodson mystery. I haven’t read any of his books. I liked the way you did an interview with a characther of the book.
    spowell01(at)bellsouth(dot)net

  7. I would love to be entered in the drawing for both books. Both sound very good.

    Blessings,
    Jo
    ladijo40(at)aol(dot)com

  8. Happy New Year Margaret! Both these books sound fantastic, I would love to read them. Thanks for the chance to win!
    carolynnwald[at]hotmail[dot]com

Leave a Reply to tetewa Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.